276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Humongous Fungus (Underground and All Around)

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

If it had specialized in large fungus or something—which is what I thought it would do based on the cover—it probably would have been easier to focus while I was reading it, but man, it's all over the place.

Humongous Fungus (Underground and All Around) - Goodreads

Yes indeed, author Lynne Boddy (and who is a mycology expert and professor of microbial ecology at the University of Cardiff, Wales) really does a wonderful textual job in D. Fungal stories include the greening of the Earth, when fungi helped plants first grow on land, and the mass destruction of crops through fungal disease. A Super Happy Magic Forest chapter book packed with illustrations and plenty of humour – this is the perfect read for fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants (7+).In fact the very first massive fungus discovered in 1992—a 37-acre (15-hectare) Armillaria bulbosa, which was later renamed Armillaria gallica—is annually celebrated at a "fungus fest" in the nearby town of Crystal Falls, Mich. The fun, colorful illustrations work together with the information presented in a way that's straightforward and easy to understand.

Humongous Fungus | DK Learning - dkbooks

People had ideas that maybe they were big but nobody had any idea they were that big," says Tom Volk, a biology professor at the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse. Embark on a magical tour of the forest floor and discover one of the most fascinating living organisms on this planet – fungi! It is a great book for children who are interested in learning about fungi, or even using it as part of a lesson in the classroom. The discovery of this giant Armillaria ostoyae in 1998 heralded a new record holder for the title of the world's largest known organism, believed by most to be the 110-foot- (33.The vast fungus kingdom has an estimated four million species — ten times more than plants and 600 times more than mammals. From the villains of the possible extinction of bananas to plastic-eating eco-warriors, there are more than 1. Sadly, they’re just as susceptible to changes in global temperature and we need to know this because they are the very foundation of life on earth.

Humongous Fungus: The Largest Living Thing on Earth Humongous Fungus: The Largest Living Thing on Earth

Not quite animals and not quite plants, the mysterious kingdom of fungi is full of secret goings onInhabiting a whole kingdom of their own, fungi can be found in every ecosystem. Next, the microbiologists developed a new way to tell an individual apart from a group of closely related siblings using a battery of molecular genetic techniques. Scientific American is part of Springer Nature, which owns or has commercial relations with thousands of scientific publications (many of them can be found at www. It is not intended as a field guide, so note that children should not go out and forage on their own after reading this.

Not quite animals and not quite plants, the mysterious kingdom of fungi is full of secret goings on Inhabiting a whole kingdom of their own, fungi can be found in every ecosystem. Glossary and index, no sources (except for photo credits) but DK thanks experts for their contributions at the end. Myron Smith was a PhD candidate in botany at the University of Toronto when he and colleagues discovered this exclusive fungus in the hardwood forests near Crystal Falls. They carpet the forest floor, and hidden fungi decompose matter, feed plants, and affect how animals function. This book explores the amazing and diverse world of fungi, mushrooms, mould on land and in the water.

Fungus Strange but True: The Largest Organism on Earth Is a Fungus

A combination of good genes and a stable environment has allowed this particularly ginormous fungus to continue its creeping existence over the past millennia. They carpet the forest floor, and different types of fungi decompose matter, feed plants, and even change animals' behaviour. With its mesmerizing illustrations and intriguing facts, the book is sure to captivate the young minds of children and leave a lasting impression. By using the Web site, you confirm that you have read, understood, and agreed to be bound by the Terms and Conditions. This is a weird and crazy book that engages young readers in a fun, creative way, and that introduces them to a non-fiction scientific topic with interest that they would otherwise likely never explore.Table of contents lends to the ease of browsing; great layout of text, photos incorporated into the engaging illustrations.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment